IUCN SSC Primate Specialist Group
1 March 2019

 

Chair -  Russell A. Mittermeier , Chief Conservation Officer, Global Wildlife Conservation, Austin, Texas USA, email: rmittermeier@globalwildlife.org

Deputy Chairs

Anthony B. Rylands, Global Wildlife Conservation, Austin Texas, USA, email: arylands@globalwildlife.org

Christoph Schwitzer, Bristol Conservation and Science Foundation, Bristol Zoo Gardens, Bristol, UK, email: cschwitzer@bristolzoo.org.uk

Vice Chairs: Section on Great Apes

Dirck Byler, Global Wildlife Conservation, Austin Texas, USA, email: dbyler@globalwildlife.org

Serge A. Wich, Liverpool John Moores University, England, UK, email:  sergewich@gmail.org

Rebecca Kormos, California - Deputy Vice Chair, Section on Great Apes, email: rebeccakormos@yahoo.com

Contact for inquiries relating to great apes and PS6

Vice Chair: Section on Small Apes

Susan M. Cheyne, Oxford, UK, email: section.small.apes@gmail.com

Vice Chairs: Section on Human-Primate Interactions

Siân Waters, Department of Anthropology, Durham University, UK, and Barbary Macaque Awareness and Conservation, Tetouan, Morocco, email:  sian@barbarymacaque.org

Susan M. Cheyne, Oxford Brookes University, UK, and Borneo Nature Foundation, email:  s.cheyne @ borneonature.org

Regional Vice Chairs - Neotropics

Mesoamerica

Liliana Cortés-Ortiz, Museum of Zoology and Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA, e-mail: lcortes@umich.edu

Andean Countries

Erwin Palacios, Conservación Internacional Colombia, Bogotá, Colombia, e-mail: epalacios@conservation.org, palacioserwin@hotmail.com;

Eckhard W. Heymann, Deutsches Primatenzentrum, Göttingen, Germany, e-mail: eheyman@gwdg.de

Fanny M. Cornejo, Stony Brook University, New York, USA, e-mail: fanny.cornejo@stonybrook.edu

Stella de la Torre, San Francisco University of Quito, Quito, Ecuador, e-mail: sdelatorre@usfq.edu.ec

Diana C. Guzman Caro, Colombiana Primate Association, Bogotá, Colombia, e-mail: guzman@asoprimatologicacolombiana.org

Brazil and the Guianas

M. Cecília M. Kierulff, Instituto Pri-Matas, Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil, e-mail: ceciliakierulff@gmail.com

Fabiano Rodrigues de Melo, Federal University of Goiás, Jataí, Goiás, Brazil, e-mail: fabiano_melo@ufg.br

Maurício Talebi, São Paulo Federal University, Diadema, São Paulo, Brazil, e-mail: talebi40@gmail.com

Leandro Jerusalinsky, Centro Nacional de Pesquisa and Conservação de Primatas Brasileiros, Instituto Chico Mendes de Conservação da Biodiversidade (ICMBio), João Pessoa, Brazil, e-mail: leandro.jerusalinsky@icmbio.gov.br

Southern Cone – Argentina, Bolicia. Paraguay, Uruguay

Martin Kowalewski, Estación Biológica Corrientes (EBCo), Museo Argentino de Ciencias Naturales BR, CONICET Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas, Corrientes, Argentina, e-mail: martinkow@gmail.com

 

Regional Vice Chairs - Africa

Rachel Ashegbofe Ikemeh, Niger Delta Forest Project, Nigeria, e-mail: r.ashegbofe@gmail.com

Inza Koné, Centre Suisse de Recherches Scientifiques, Côte d’Ivoire, e-mail: inza.kone@csrs.ci 

David Osei, West African Primate Conservation Action (WAPCA), Ghana, david.dosei@gmail.com 

Janette Wallis, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK, USA, e-mail: wallis@africanprimates.net

Regional Vice Chairs – Madagascar

Christoph Schwitzer, Bristol Zoological Society, Bristol, UK, e-mail: cschwitzer@bristolzoo.org.uk

Jonah Ratsimbazafy, Groupe d’étude et de recherche sur les primates (Gerp), Antananarivo, Madagascar, e-mail: jonah@gerp-mg.org

Steig Johnson, University of Calgary, Calgary, Canada, e-mail: steig.johnson@ucalgary.ca

Regional Vice Chairs – Asia

China

Baoguo Li, Northwest University, Xi'an, China, e-mail: baoguoli@nwu.edu.cn

South-east Asia / Indochina

Jatna Supriatna, Conservation International Indonesia Program, Jakarta, Indonesia, e-mail: jatna.supriatna@gmail.com, jatna.suprijatna@rccc.ui.ac.id 

Arif Setiawan, Faculty of Forestry, Gadjah Mada University, Yogyakarta, Indonesia, email: wawan5361@yahoo.com

Christian Roos, Deutsches Primatenzentrum, Göttingen, Germany, e-mail: croos@dpz.eu

Benjamin M. Rawson, World Wildlfe Fund, Hanoi, Vietnam, e-mail: nomascus@yahoo.com.au

Ramesh Boonratana, Mahidol University International College, Salaya, Nakhon Pathom 73170, Thailand, e-mail: rboonratana@gmail.com, ramesh.boo@mahidol.ac.th

Le Khac Quyet, Fauna & Flora International - Vietnam Conservation Support Programme, Hanoi, Vietnam, e-mail: quyet2004@gmail.com

Duc Hoang Minh, Southern Institute of Ecology (SIE), Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, e-mail: ducthao71@yahoo.com

South Asia

Sanjay Molur, Wildlife Information Liaison Development, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India, e-mail: herpinvert@gmail.com

Dilip Chetry, Gibbon Conservation Centre, Assam, India, e-mail: gibbonconservationcentre@gmail.com

Red List Authority Coordinators

Sanjay Molur, Wildlife Information Liaison Development, Tamil Nadu, India

Christoph Schwitzer, Bristol Conservation and Science Foundation, Bristol Zoo Gardens, Bristol, UK

Liz Williamson, University of Stirling, Stirling, Scotland, UK (Great Apes).

Publications - Editors

Neotropical Primates – Erwin Palacios, Bruna M. Bezerra,  Liliana Cortés-Ortiz, Júlio César Bicca-Marques, Eckhard W. Heymann, Jessica Lynch Alfaro & Adrian A. Barnett

Lemur News – Christoph Schwitzer, Claudia Fichtel, Jörg U. Ganzhorn, Rodin M. Rasoloarison, Jonah Ratsimbazafy & Anne D. Yoder

African Primates - Janette Wallis

Asian Primates Journal - Ramesh Boonratana, John R. Fellowes, Christian Roos & Jatna Supriatna

Primate Conservation - Russell A. Mittermeier & Anthony B. Rylands

Tropical Field Guide Series - Russell A. Mittermeier & Anthony B. Rylands

Best Practices Guidelines for the Conservation of Great Apes - Liz Williamson (2005–2016) Dirck Byler (2019– )

Best Practices Guidelines for the Conservation of Small Apes - Benjamin M. Rawson